Diagnosed and confused: A guest post for Pioneer Momma

When my son Finn turned 3, we went to his annual well appointment. He was walking around the room on his toes, grazing every curious surface he could reach. The doctor asked the usual litany of questions and asked if I had any concerns. Sheepishly, I said, “He has really bad temper tantrums… for like an hour.”

“Uh huh,” the doctor replied, “that is very typical 3 year old behavior.” I jokingly retorted, “You don’t understand. I think his head spun around.”

She just stared at me.

“You know… like in the Exorcist?”

Crickets.

I left that appointment feeling frustrated and desperate. Could all these meltdowns really be “normal?” Were other parents of 3-year-olds this frustrated and confused by their child?

The rest of this post can be found over at my new friend Ashley’s blog called a Pioneer Momma. I was the guest blogger today, so please click here to continue reading the post. And while you’re there, check out the rest of her blog. She’s down to Earth and really inspiring! You can also enter to win a really adorable Christmas craft she created here.

Leave a Reply

