HighFunctioningMomism celebrates 1000 Ausome Things #AutismPositivity2013

Don’t feel bad for me because I’m raising a child with autism.

Don’t feel bad for me when I tell you that our lives are changed forever.

My perspective on life and love and marriage and children is changed forever.

And for that, I am forever grateful.

I have always wanted kids. I went to college, even to grad school, and my only aspiration was to have a family. I always knew that my most successful title would be “mom.” I just never knew that “special needs” would precede it. I would’ve never chosen this life, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world! A life without my son, and his autism, would be a half life. Life before autism was  black and white and this is definitely Technicolor!

Accomplished milestones are greater. Spoken words are sweeter. Tender family moments are… tenderer. A simple “I love you” is enough to make my world go ’round. Is it incredibly difficult and challenging? Yes! But, nothing worth anything in this life comes by taking the easy road.

I don’t resent or regret a single moment of this life. Finn has taught us things in the two years since his diagnosis (and his five years of life) that I would’ve never learned in a lifetime.

Some moms wish for her kid to hit a home run. I wish for my kid to pick up the bat. And when he does, I cheer louder than any of those home run moms!

Autism has opened my eyes to a better life. Autism has given my life depth and perspective.

How could you not enjoy this view?

006

Finn batting with his own bat and a hand pitched ball! I couldn’t be prouder!

And THAT is what’s “ausome” about autism!

autismpositivity2013button2

This post was a part of something that is so much bigger than me. Please click over to The Autism Positivity Flash Blog and read about other people who are seeing the silver lining and the blessings that come from living, loving and being autistic.

2 thoughts on “HighFunctioningMomism celebrates 1000 Ausome Things #AutismPositivity2013

  1. Shannon, we are so proud of you and Finn. Raising a family is hard enough without Dad and Mom Cogan xoxo

  2. Pingback: HighFunctioningMomism celebrates 1000 Ausome Things #AutismPositivity2013 | Autism Positivity Day Flash Blog

Leave a Reply

