To my husband on Valentine’s Day

I don’t need roses or jewelry from Tiffany’s.

Gone are the days of a fancy dinner and a night on the town.

That was always too much fuss for me anyway.

You show me you love me every day. In your actions. In your decisions. In your sacrifices.

You work three jobs so I can stay home. For me.
You go to IEP meetings. For me.
You go to Board of Education meetings. For me.
You go to the big Doctor appointments. For me.
You coach basketball. For me.
You go to Boy Scouts. For me.
You take the trash out. For me.
You work 12 hour days and still come home and bathe the kids. For me.
You never buy yourself new things, so we can get things for the kids. For me.
You watch romantic comedies. For me.
You give me the comfy spot on the couch. (Most nights.) For me.
You read me the first chapter of a good book. For me.
When I can’t sleep, you let me wake you in the middle of the night just so I’m not alone. For me.
You eat the same 5 chicken dinners and tell me they’re delicious. Every time. For me.
You pretend not to notice the “baby weight” I can’t seem to lose. Or the gray hairs that have sprouted up. Or the worry lines on my face. For me.
You listen. Really listen. To me.
You show our kids what love looks like by how much you love me (and them).
You put yourself last. And me (and the kids) first.
You’ve created this beautiful life.
For me.

For all of these and so many more. How could I ever tell you how much that means to me?

Thank you for loving me.

4 thoughts on “To my husband on Valentine’s Day

  1. OMG, I can’t see to type. The tears are welled up in my eyes. Oops, there, they spilled down my cheeks. What a display of love. Both of you! Your family will be just fine! Carry on! xoxo

Leave a Reply

